No rock tomb

Why did you die or my sins?

Why did you die for a sinner like me?

When I think about your suffering

the griefs you bore

the spear wound inside

A tear was shed from heaven

when you paid the ultimate price.

No rock tomb could hold you

No rock tomb could keep you inside.

I celebrate your resurrection

I celebrate the gift of new life.

Your blood poured out for cleansing

for every guilty sinner’s stain

Such love despite my failures

I can hardly take it all in

Your grief reborn, abundant joy

I traded death

for the promise of life.

 

© Mark Ellis 2008

Leave a comment

Filed under poems

Leave a Reply

